Meme Wars: The Creative Destruction of Neoclassical Economics
  • $100.00 $75.00
    • Hardcover
    • 400
    • November 13, 2012
    • 9781609804329
  • $29.95 $22.46
    • Paperback
    • 400
    • November 13, 2012
    • 9781609804732

Meme Wars: The Creative Destruction of Neoclassical Economics

Kalle Lasn and Adbusters

From the editor and magazine that started and named the Occupy Wall Street movement, Meme Wars lays out the next steps in rethinking and remaking our world with a new economic paradigm. Like Adbusters, the book is image-heavy and full-color throughout, and includes contributions from Nobel Prize winner Joseph Stiglitz, Paul Samuelson, George Akerlof, Lourdes Benera, Julie Matthaei, Manfred Max-Neef, David Orrell, Paul Gilding, Mathis Wackernagel and the father of ecological economics Herman Daly, among others.

Meme Wars presents a new way of looking at our world that challenges and debunks many of the assumptions of neoclassical economics and brings to light a more ecological model. It takes into account psychonomics, bionomics, and other aspects of our physical and mental environment that are often left out in discussions of economics.

Author Kalle Lasn calls it "a textbook for the future" that provides the building blocks, in texts and visuals, for a new way of looking at and changing our world. Through an examination of alternative economies, Lasn spurs students to become "barefoot economists" and to see that a humanization of economics is possible.

Based on ideas that were presented in a special issue of Adbusters entitled "Thought Control in Economics: Beyond the Growth Paradigm / An Activist Toolkit," Meme Wars will help move forward the Occupy Wall Street movement.


"Thought-provoking and creative"–Julie Nelson, author of Beyond Economic Man: Feminist Theory and Economics

"Meme Wars should be required reading for anyone wants to challenge their ideas about the modern economy and the people who champion it."–Miranda Nelson, Georgia Straight

"Adbusters magazine and its editor Kalle Lasn have been at the forefront of the global resistance to capitalism exemplified by the Occupy movement. Their new book, Meme Wars: The Creative Destruction of Neoclassical Economics, uses startling images to back up its hard-hitting points."–The Guardian

"The essays in Meme Wars are engrossing, exciting even. This book compels us to rethink our approaches to economics by offering critique after critique of the way the subject is written about and taught, indeed of the very conceptual categories we use when we debate about how goods are produced and distributed, services provided and resources extracted. By turns wonky and visionary, Meme Wars ... brings together a group of accomplished writers, most of them academics, who approach the world’s economic, environmental and social problems in ways one seldom finds in mainstream journalism or economics departments."–Literary Review of Canada

"Meme Wars is a kind of anti-textbook, which uses words and images to explore the dark spaces that surround conventional economic theory."–David Orrell, economist

About Kalle Lasn and Adbusters

KALLE LASN is an internationally known, award-winning documentarist. He is publisher of Adbusters magazine and founder of the Adbusters Media Foundation and Powershift Advertising Agency. Lasn has dedicated himself to launching social marketing campaigns with Adbusters such as Buy Nothing Day and TV Turnoff Week, and to fighting legal battles for the right to access the public airwaves, primarily through the anticapitalist tactic of culture jamming. Lasn, along with Adbusters senior editor Micah White and Adbusters' 90,000-strong global network of activists were the instigators of the first #OccupyWallStreet event on September 17, 2011.

ADBUSTERS is a not-for-profit, reader-supported, advertising-free, 70,000-circulation magazine that lays bare anticapitalist, pro-environment concerns through incisive philosophical essays, activist commentary, and advertising spoofs. Based in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, Adbusters past and present contributors include Slajov Zizek, David Graeber, Simon Critchley, Michael Hardt, Antonio Negri, Matt Taibbi, Bill McKibben, Douglas Rushkoff, Jonathan Cook, and Chris Hedges.

We also suggest: