Borrowed Hearts: New and Selected Stories
  • $24.00 $18.00
    • Paperback
    • 336
    • September 2000
    • 9781888363982
  • $16.95 $12.71
    • Hardcover
    • 336
    • April 1999
    • 9781583220405

Borrowed Hearts: New and Selected Stories

Rick DeMarinis

Borrowed Hearts traces the development of DeMarinis's incantatory voice, including both his most recent work and stories selected from his three previous, highly acclaimed collections: Under Wheat (1986), the winner of the Drue Heinz Literature Prize for short fiction; The Coming of the Free World, a New York Times Notable Book (1988); and The Voice of America (1991). The title story was included in 1991's The Best Stories of the South, and "Your Story" was chosen to be read on National Public Radio's Selected Shorts.


"This greatest-hits anthology … serves as an ideal curbside roost from which to contemplate his tantalizing, if often brooding, artistry." —Marc Smirnoff, The New York Times Book Review

"This career-synthesizing collection of stories lands [DeMarinis] on the shelf right next to Flannery O'Connor, another writer who shined a divine light on ordinary saints and sinners." —Tom Grimes, The Texas Observer

"The beauty of reading DeMarinis's work in bulk; by the end of the 32-story collection, even the weirdest notions seem plausible: Wimpy men with murder in their hearts, cruel slovenly women, and nasty little kids no longer induce winces. Instead, they seem genuine, faintly familiar, and never, ever boring." —The Seattle Times

About Rick DeMarinis

RICK DEMARINIS is the author of six novels, including The Year of the Zinc Penny, which was a 1989 New York Times Notable Book, and three previous collections of short fiction. His stories have appeared in Harper'sAntaeusStoryEpoch, among many others. In 1990 he received a Literature Award from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. He teaches creative writing at the University of Texas, El Paso.

We also suggest: